Checklist File

Although Crustecan Warrior app has had its Minimum Viable Product (MVP) version finished, there are still a lot more to do before this app is usable for people. It’s as they say, app development will never end. The real challenge of building an application is maintaining it, namely fixing bugs and implementing new features. Each of my projects so far certainly have a lot more potential yet to be implemented. That’s why starting from PetTake, I’m keeping a checklist markdown file to keep all of the fixes and new features that come across my mind throughout development process.

Checklist file

This checklist file is, by its nature, cluttered. I mean, whenever a wild idea crosses my mind in a flash, I would put it into the checklist. No matter how absurd and often impractical these ideas may be. As long as the ideas are interesting, I would jot it down. My current development workflow for now is:

  1. Sketch/rough design.
  2. Page and feature mockups using Photoshop.
  3. Minimum Viable Product (MVP).
  4. Design refinements. Implementing mockup designs to MVP.
  5. Continuous Development. An endless cycle of implementing new features and fixing bugs of an application.

In these development phases, I would finally care about what’s inside project’s checklist file when I finish the app’s MVP. I initially don’t have an organized way to sort this clutter of a markdown file. But now, I think it’s good to convert these bullet points of ideas into Trello cards. Although I’m still not used with Trello, Agile, or Scrum (or whatever is the name of this workflow), I’m trying my best to find a sweet spot in using this tool to manage my projects.

Trello board

Once the Trello cards are sorted out, I’ll start removing these cards from backlogs and get the work on. For now, the focus lies on design refinements at most while doing a few small refactors along the way. But before refining UIs, I want to take a deep look at Material Design spec first as I really want to comply to the design spec as much as possible. I love how Material Design look and feel, so I may need to adjust my design accordingly later on. That’s it for today, thank you for reading my post and have a nice day.

Published by YosepRA

I'm a MERN stack web developer. I will build a web application to turn your online ideas into reality.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started